Menu
Career and Technical Education

CAREER and TECHNICAL EDUCATION (CTE) 

The CTE Department is comprised of Business Education, Family & Consumer Sciences and Technology Education.

 

BUSINESS EDUCATION

Business Education courses are designed to provide a basic background in general business education leading to: 1) an informed and thinking individual; 2) an understanding of business principles and procedures;and 3) an acquisition of specific skills for personal and business application. 

FAMILY & CONSUMER SCIENCES

The philosophy of the Family & Consumer Science courses reflect Amity’s Common Core of Learning goal to prepare students for life by offering them opportunities to acquire skills and competencies in the areas of careers and family living. Course variety gives students the chance to experience growth and learning in many of the areas essential to becoming productive and contributing members of society. Family & Consumer Science courses provide students with opportunities to pursue academic excellence through a variety of learning experiences which address the needs of a diverse student population. Heterogeneous grouping allows for experiences which reflect a microcosm of society (mutual respect, sense of caring/cooperation, sense of community etc.). The various electives offered by Family & Consumer Sciences should interest students who will pursue post-secondary education, are job bound or wish to develop personal and leisure time interests.

 

TECHNOLOGY  EDUCATION

Technology Education presents exciting technical courses with many hands-on activities in computer-aided design (CAD), computer programming, construction, engineering, graphics, manufacturing, and transportation.  Students gain real life experience and skills while actively learning how to use industry standard technology that shape the way we work and live.

FACULTY

TEACHER

COURSES

Edna Anderson

Edna.anderson@reg5.k12.ct.us

 

Child Development, Culinary Skills 1 &2,

Interior Design

William Battaglia

William.battaglia@reg5.k12.ct.us

 

Advanced Auto Technology, Auto Maintenance,

Know Your Car

Michael Cofrancesco

Michael.cofrancesco@reg5.k12.ct.us

 

Accounting, Economics, It’s the Law

 
David DeFeo

David.defeo@reg5.k12.ct.us

 

 
Computer Graphics, Intro. to Graphics, Silkscreeing

Peter Fuller

Peter.fuller@reg5.k12.ct.us

 

Computer Apps., Intro. and Intermediate Computing, Web Design,

William Hans

William.hans@reg5.k12.ct.us

 

Advanced Culinary 1&2, American Regional Cuisine, Culinary Skills 1 & 2

Grace Loman

Grace.loman@reg5.k12.ct.us

 

Architectural Drafting, Engineering Drafting ,

Intro. to Technical Drafting, 3D CAD Modeling

Edward Rostowsky

Edward.rostowsky@reg5.k12.ct.us

 

Engineering Design 1&2, Intro. to Technical Drafting Manufacturing 1 & 2, Materials, Design & Function, Robotics

Susan Tupper

Susan.tupper@reg5.k12.ct.us

 

 

Entrepreneurship, Marketing, Personal Finance

Carl Teravainen

Carl.teravainen@reg5.k12.ct.us

Advanced Carpentry, Construction 1 &2,

Exploring Production and Construction,

Exploring Transportation and Alternative Energy

Matthew Zawacki

Matthew.zawacki@reg5.k12.ct.us

Creative Kitchen, Culinary Skills 1 &2,

International Cuisine